My blog is carbon neutral

I think, like most people, that I try to do my best for the environment.  I compost, recycle, have started growing my own fruit and veg, eat seasonally and pick up my dog poop.  But plastics and waste are still a fact of life, especially with this kitchen reno we’re doing.  We thought long and hard before starting this project since I really think the best way is to just work with what you have.  But the cabinets were warped and crumbling and the walls had no insulation.   So I’m feeling a little guilty about all the emissions that went in to producing our new kitchen, not to mention all the plastic, styro and construction waste going to the landfill on our behalf.

Needless to say I was super excited when I discovered the German program that makes blogs carbon neutral!  Huh?  That’s what I said at first!  How does typing produce greenhouse gases.  Well it doesn’t.  It’s the power needed to run the servers and all that other stuff.  A Harvard prof produced a study stating that a blog with 15 000 hits a month produces a yearly co2 output of 3.6 kg.  Not good!  So Mach’s grün! and the project “my blog is carbon neutral” was launched.  All you have to do is blog about the project, install their button, let them know and they’ll plant a tree to offset your blogging carbon.  How awesome is that!  I’ve already planted 3 trees in our yard since we moved in and love the idea that another one will be in the Plumas National Forest in Northern California, a forest devastated by wildfires in 2007.  They’re planting Douglas fir, red and white firs, incense cedars, ponderosa pine and sugar pine trees, a gorgeous evergreen mix that will go far to prevent soil erosion and build a new wildlife habitat.  I grew up with 2 giant Doug firs in the back yard, trees at least 100 years old and love the idea of helping a baby tree along it’s way.  And reliving a bit of the guilt!

Leave a comment

Filed under garden, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

